Interstate Border Restrictions

Border restrictions | Information for businesses.

The last time the border between NSW and Victoria closed was in 1919 to help prevent the spread of the Spanish Influenza. At midnight on 7 July 2020, the border between NSW and VIC closed again. Border restrictions are managed by State Governments and as such, processes across the country differ.

Current understanding of restrictions on Victorian residents (provided by NGIV and updated by GIA)
Please be aware that updates will be provided here as information comes to hand.

Victoria to New South Wales (NSW)

  • From 8 July, anyone travelling from Victoria to NSW will need a border entry permit to travel
  • To be eligible for a permit you need to meet the eligibility criteria
  • The eligibility criteria applicable to the industry includes a person providing critical services
  • Amongst other services, ‘agriculture’, ‘the movement of freight or persons on a commercial basis’ and ‘the maintenance and repair of critical infrastructure’ is defined as a critical serviceunder the NSW Public Health (COVID-19 Border Control) Order 2020
  • The permit is valid for 14 days from the date of issue
  • A permit, if approved, will indicate if they need to self-isolate for 14 days, get tested for COVID-19 or any other conditions upon entering NSW.
  • A new permit will be available by 5pm Thursday 9th July to allow travel for freight and transport between NSW and VIC for work. If your employer has a COVID-19 safety plan, you'll not be required to self isolate. In the meantime, Freight and Transport workers will still require the current critical services permit to enter NSW, but will not be required to self isolate if your employer has a COVID-19 safety plan.

Applications for permits can be made here

Victoria to South Australia (SA)

If you are planning travel to South Australia for business we believe you will be considered an essential traveller, and you are best to complete a Cross Border Travel Registration at least three days before you leave. All travellers intending to enter SA should register for pre-approval here .

Once your application has been processed you will receive an email with:

1. A pre-approval receipt number that you will need to take with you to the border.

2. An assessment with ‘single status’ or ‘ongoing status’ approval to determine whether you are:

- Able to travel without restriction
- Deemed an essential traveller, with or without self-quarantine restrictions
- Required to self-quarantine on arrival for 14 days.

Should you be unable to complete the online application we understand you can still proceed to the border and a police officer will assist.The border process will be significantly faster if your details have been entered before you arrive and an assessment has been made.

Victoria & Queensland (QLD)

On 9 July Queensland announced entry into the State by Victorian's would become stricter from midday 10 July under the Border Restrictions Direction (No.8). While information continues to be forthcoming, it is our understanding that:

  • Every person entering or proposing to enter Queensland from another State or Territory must provide a valid Queensland Border Declaration Pass.

  • Passes are valid for 7 days and will require renewal every 7 days.

  • People arriving from any covid-10 hot spot (defined here) can enter if they are providing an essential service (relevance to industry is defined in Schedule 1 as providing transport or freight logistics or are a specialist worker).

  • The schedule indicates that essential service workers require a border pass but are not required to quarantine.

  • The person must as far as practicable, must remain isolated from the general public in their vehicle or accommodation until the person departs Queensland or for 14 days, whichever period is shorter.

Queensland Government has prepared a fact sheet for industry and business affected by the restrictions.
Information will be updated here as it becomes available.

Other interstate restriction information sources

Information links for border measures with other Australian States can be found below:

ACT - Travelling to the ACT

New South Wales - NSW DPI Border Crossing

Northern Territory - Border control and mandatory self-quarantine

Queensland – QLD Border information

South Australia – SA Travel restrictions

Tasmania – Roadmap to Recovery

Victoria – Coronavirus information

Western Australia – Travel & border State-wide